EnergyUnited Logo
Close Menu

Electric Cooperative Youth Tour

Winners Announced!

EnergyUnited is proud to announce that two high school students have been selected by the co-op to attend the 2020 Electric Cooperative Youth Tour in Washington, D.C in June: Gavin Gallimore of Lexington, NC and Toni Winiker of Davidson, NC.

Gallimore,16, is a junior at Central Davidson High School. In addition to serving as the Junior Class Secretary, Gallimore is also a member of the Central Davidson FCA, FFA, the National Honor Society and enjoys running track and cross country.

Winiker, 17, is a junior at William A. Hough High School and currently serves as HOSA Junior Class Representative. Winiker’s academic achievements also include her selection to join the school’s AP Capstone Program, National Honor Society, Math National Honor Society and the AP Ambassadors Program.

2020 Youth Tour Winners Gallimore & Winiker

2020 Youth Tour Winners Toni Winiker & Gavin Gallimore.

Each year, EnergyUnited seeks high school applicants for the Electric Cooperative Youth Tour to Washington, D.C. The program, open to sophomores and juniors, will take students on a historic journey to learn about electric cooperatives, American history and the United States government while visiting the historic sites of the nation’s capital. You could be one of about 45 rising seniors from all over North Carolina who join 1,800 students from across the nation in D.C. Visit the Smithsonian, Capitol Hill, Arlington National Cemetery and several memorials, all while making friends you would have never met without this special trip! You will return home as part of a group that has more than 50,000 alumni in every walk of life including U.S. Senators and CEOs.

Applications were accepted Oct. 1 – Dec. 31, 2019. Winners will participate June 20-26, 2020.

All EnergyUnited applicants must reside in a home or attend a high school serviced by EnergyUnited.

Qualifying Schools:

  • Central Davidson Sr. High
  • Davie County Early College
  • Davie County High
  • Hopewell High
  • Ledford High
  • North Iredell High
  • South Davidson High
  • West Iredell High
  • William Amos Hough High


EnergyUnited is dedicated to building a brighter energy future for its members by supporting beneficial electrification initiatives and by continuing to increase its utilization of renewable energy resources. When you think of a brighter energy future for your community, what do you envision? How can electric cooperatives like EnergyUnited support your vision?

2019 Youth Tour Winners Olivia Kastor and Julia McClain

2019 Youth Tour Winners Olivia Kastor and Julia McClain.

back to top button